9 LCHS Students Selected as National Merit Semifinalists

La Cañada High School students were among the 16,000 semifinalists in the 62nd annual National Merit Scholarship Program. They are (front row, from left) Olivia Cwik, Jenny Wang, Jennifer Y. Yoon and Sarah Bhaskaran. Back: Chris Morillo, Michael Linde, Alex Zhao, Daniel S. Oh and Albert Zhai. They now can apply for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships, which will be announced in the spring. About 1.6 million juniors were eligible by taking the 2015 preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. “I’d like to thank you on behalf of the district,” Superintendent Wendy Sinnette told the students. “It’s quite an achievement and we’re very proud of you. This obviously shows academic success, but I look around the table and I see really good people. Best and brightest is an understatement.”

Leave a Reply