LCHS Senior Earns National Merit Scholarship

Jennifer Yoon

A La Cañada High School senior is among the first group of winners in the 62nd annual National Merit Scholarship Program.
La Cañada High School’s Jennifer Yoon was named among about 1,000 high school seniors who won corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship awards, financed by about 200 corporations, company foundations and other business organizations.
Yoon garnered a scholarship from the National Distillers Distributors Foundation. She’s identified medicine as her probable career field.
Winners were selected from students who advanced to the finalist level in the National Merit competition and met criteria of the scholarship corporate sponsors, who provide scholarships to children of their employees, residents of communities the company serves, or scholars who plan to pursue college majors or careers the sponsor wishes to encourage.
Most of these awards are renewable for as many as four years of college undergraduate study and provide annual stipends that range from $500 to $10,000 per year. Others provide a single payment between $2,500 and $5,000.
Pasadena Westridge School for Girls’ Samantha Khalsa Mendenhall, who lives in LCF, also was a winner. She is eyeing a career in international law, and was the recipient of the National Merit Rockwell Automation Scholarship.
Separately, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation will announce a $2,500 Scholarship on May 10, and winners of college-sponsored Merit Scholarships awards will be June 7 and July 17.

Leave a Reply