Broberg Celebrated as La Cañadan of the Year

Photo courtesy Maureen Bond
Former La Cañada High School Principal Mike Leininger, now the Kiwanis Club president, congratulates former La Cañada Unified School District board member Jeanne Broberg on being named La Cañadan of the year during a ceremony on Wednesday, April 26, at Van de Kamp Hall.

The Noon Kiwanis Club recently recognized Jeanne Broberg as the 2016 La Cañadan of the Year in front of about 200 people at its luncheon at Descanso Gardens’ Van de Kamp Hall.
Having lived in LCF since 1970, Broberg’s community service has included serving on the LCUSD Governing Board for three terms after being elected in 1993. She also spent six terms as a PTA president for La Cañada Unified schools.
Broberg also spent seven years as a morning seminary teacher for teens at the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and was president of the Church Relief Society and the Young Women’s Organization.
Each year since the early 1950s, the Kiwanis Club has selected an outstanding citizen from the community to be honored as the La Cañadan of the Year.

Leave a Reply