LCHS Captured 1st CIF Softball Championship 25 Years Ago

Photo courtesy Jacki Asplund
La Cañada High School won its first CIF Southern Section softball championship 25 years ago by defeating San Bernardino Cajon, 2-0, in the Division 4 title game. The historic squad included Linda Abeles Corlett (front row, from left), Julie Asher, Siarra Geer Mayo, Sunny Park, Kelly O’Toole Herman, Shannon Smith Loughrin, Emily Dalbeck Viola, Tara Howard, Briette Hackett Snook, Stephanie Hull Richards and Kara Campbell Artingstall. Back: Stephanie Tenerelli Shaw, Sara Takata, Lindsay Parker Peters, Lori Hanson Arbucci, Lauren Burns Shen, Jacki Tenerelli Asplund, Tricia Walton Santos, Jamie Formico and Erin Broadwell Williams.

The La Cañada High School softball program is consistently of the most competitive in the San Gabriel Valley, a tendency that was cemented 25 years ago when the Spartans claimed their first CIF Southern Section championship with a 2-0 victory over San Bernardino Cajon in the Division 4 final.
“It was a very exciting time,” said former first baseman Jacki Asplund, who earned All-CIF, All-State and co-Rio Hondo League MVP honors following La Cañada’s winning season. “We had lost my junior year. Our goal was to win it my senior year. It was the ultimate goal, and we worked really hard for it. We just had a great group of girls that got along. We had everything we needed to be a winning team with our talent and commitment.”
Continue reading “LCHS Captured 1st CIF Softball Championship 25 Years Ago”