HomeBusiness NewsCathay Bank Foundation Announces Scholarship Recipients

Cathay Bank Foundation Announces Scholarship Recipients

Cathay Bank Foundation held a virtual award ceremony to recognize the high school senior recipients of the 2021 Cathay Bank Foundation Scholarship. Each recipient will receive a $1,000 scholarship used to cover tuition costs for attending a college or university as a full-time student this fall.
“Cathay Bank Foundation is happy to invest in these outstanding young adults and see them achieve their dream of furthering their education,” said Senior Vice President Bill Becker, director of Community Development of Cathay Bank. “We received applications from many talented young people who already exhibit great leadership skills with an appreciation for community service. We are excited to see what the future holds for them.”
On behalf of the Cathay Bank Foundation, co-chair Deborah Ching thanked the Asian Pacific Community Fund for its assistance. APCF is the program administrator for the Cathay Bank Foundation Scholarship for the past three years. Chun-Yen Chen, executive director of APCF, attended the award ceremony and extended congratulatory messages to the scholarship recipients.
The award ceremony was held virtually for the second year in a row, for the health and safety of the attendees. Each scholarship recipient gave an acceptance speech, expressing their gratitude toward the Cathay Bank Foundation and shared their plans for college life and goals after graduation.
This year, Cathay Bank Foundation received 438 scholarship applications from California, New York, Washington, Illinois, Texas, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey and Nevada. Cathay Bank engaged 87 employees nationwide who volunteered to review and score the application essays. The APCF analyzed the scores and selected the scholarship recipients.
The scholarship recipients are Reena Dadrah, Daniella Giron, Grace Corinne Karanick, Joanna Lov Ngo, Saya Seraj and Amy Tran of Southern California; Benjamin Leong, Veronica Liu and Juliana Zeng of Northern California; Julian Kristopher Cole of Illinois; Laila Ananda Flores of Maryland; Julie Leung of Massachusetts; Reina De La Paz Castaneda of Nevada; Travis Anane of New Jersey; Jennifer Chen and Madison Spanodemos of New York; Nao Misan Pongrog and Ranjita Roka of Texas; Alexis Sorm and Fiona Wang of Washington.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=3]